APACPH General Assembly

The APACPH Annual General Assembly (GA) was held on the 16th September 2017 at the Yonsei University’s International Campus in Incheon, South Korea. The issues discussed at the Executive Council Meeting held the day before was brought for the General Assembly approval. The main issue was the new APACPH Constitution, which was tabled in the GA by Dr Suk Hee Tae and subsequently approved by the GA with some minor amendments. With the new constitution, the post of the Treasurer has been changed to Vice-President Finance and Secretary to Vice-President Administration, with post the post converted to appointed position.

The election for the President-Elect, Secretary-General, Vice-President 1 and Vice-President 2 was also conducted. It was chaired by Dr Khairul Anuar Abdullah from MASHA University Malaysia. Dr Low Wah Yun from the University of Malaya has been elected as President-Elect, Dr Bruce Maycock from Curtin University of Technology as Secretary-General and Dr Chia Kee Seng from National University of Singapore as the Vice-President 2. The post for the Vice-President 2 was left vacant, as no qualified nomination was received at the deadline.

Two universities were inducted into APACPH, they were Department of Public Health, Taoyuan City, Republic of China (Taiwan) and Sahmyook University from South Korea. The University of Malaya’s Master of Public Health programme received APACPH Accreditation during the GA, Dr Sanjay Rampal the Head of the Department of Social and Preventive Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya was there to received the certificate from the Secretary-General.

Here are some highlights from the meeting, more pictures are available from the Gallery